Aeolian Islands

The Aeolian Islands form an archipelago of volcanic islands, located to the northeast of Sicily, near its coast. The seven main islands are Lipari, Vulcano, Salina, Stromboli, Filicudi, Alicudi and Panarea. Lipari is the capital of the Aeolian Islands and it is the largest city with the same name. They are divided between the Islands around 13,000 inhabitants, amount which significantly increases in tourist seasons. In fact, tourism is the most important economic activity of the Aeolian. A good option to enjoy these wonderful islands may find one of the precious houses that are rented in Salina. The best means of transport to move within the Islands is the motorino.

The small size of these islands allows us to move through them peacefully with these small motorcycles, and discourages the use of the car, a nuisance to park and crossing the narrow streets of the villages. Several dive centers allow us to explore the seabed full of life. Dives are performed in different parts of the Islands. There are several options to get from one island to another. If the weather is good and the sea is calm, you can rent small boats that traverse all the Islands on your own. Thus you can visit the islands you want mooring the boat in the port, or stop you to swim in the coves more inaccessible. There are also organized boat excursions most large if we dare not with our own boat, or if the sea is something moved. We can finally take the ferries that cross the Islands regularly.

Good food is another of the attractions of this place: fish, pizzas, and a specialty of the area: il pane cunzato. The best thing is to try it in the legendary da Alfredo in Lingua (Salina). The natural slush are also typical of the area. You can find multitude of flavours (fruits of the forest, pineapple, kiwi, coffee, sprockets, etc..).